Mountain Escapes Guest Reviews

Most of our testimonials are listed on each cabin page:

Bryan, We had a great time Thank you for making it easy for us. The cabin was great, the weather was perfect, the kids had a great time on the train ride. Just a great time all around. thanks again.  Bridget

Bryan

The weekend was very enjoyable, and all the reservations for Zip Line and Rafting went off without a hitch.

Thank you for all your help, and we look forward to visiting again in the future.

Sarah P
Reviewed: Aug 23, 2017
Sarah P gave this review of her stay at Phoenix Ridge- Bryan was a great host - communication was easy via the Mountain Escapes office phone. The house was WAY more than expected in size and beauty. I would definitely recommend it. Our only issue was in finding the home, the mailbox isnt marked with the house number but there was a ME sign to help us. Overall a great stay (just be sure to bring games and movies as cell service is hard to get!
View Property: 75575
Virginia
Reviewed: Aug 23, 2017
Our trip from the Atlanta airport was delayed by a meltdown at the car rental agency when we had to wait over two hours to get a car and then, when finally we had one, it was FWD, not the AWD/4WD wed ordered. When we went to collect our SUV, one in our party spoke to a manager, said we were sad because we didnt get the SUV wed ordered and that wed not be able to make it up the road to the cabin we rented. Were a group of 64-to-72-year old camp friends of over 50 years whod planned this solar eclipse trip from Texas/CT to TN since we last saw each other in the winter. Well, the manager took pity on us and gave us an AWD Volvo. We were late to arrive at the cabin and, without going into too much detail, were led there by a local restaurateur who helped us open the gate--definitely bring a flashlight, headlamp preferred--and led us up the twisting, gravely hill. The Volvo climbed it effortlessly. But make no mistake, no matter how good you think you are at off-road driving, its unlikely youll climb that hill with front or rear wheel drive. Bryan, a consummate host, made this very clear in the reviews but let me tell you, once you get up there, you find a mountain paradise. Though we had just 3 days there, we made the most of it, enjoying the hot tub that looks over the mountains, cooking smores at the campfire, playing the banjo, singing, gazing, visiting and grilling on the porch. The cabin has just one bathroom and those who sleep upstairs must come outside, then enter the main cabin to access it. But hey, thats part of the charm and, besides, were old campers used to wooden outhouses. In fact, the women who slept upstairs had such deep sleeps we had to go awaken then each morning. Now dont get me wrong the bathroom was perfectly appointed and accommodated we five women perfectly. There were quaint decorations inside the cabin with plenty of bears, fish and moose in the motif. The kitchen was well-stocked with utensils, dishes, pots and pans. We were all delighted with our eclipse sojourn in Copperhill and were so grateful we found this cabin. On another note, folks around here were so very friendly and helpful and there is so much to do from kayaking/tubing to hiking to driving country roads. The cabin, our host, Bryan, and the area were just spectacular!
View Property: 120562
Greg M
Reviewed: Aug 22, 2017
Spent the eclipse weekend in this great off the beaten path cabin. Just what the doctor ordered! The road leading up is not as bad as I have read in other reviews - my Cadillac made it up with no problems. If you put the address into Waze it will take you right to it.
View Property: 126447
Tara S
Reviewed: Aug 11, 2017
Review #18767745 Close to downtown Blue RidgeGA and the Ocoee River area This cabin is secluded, peaceful, and has a covered porch that is hard to pull yourself away from. We loved this property. The pictures dont do it justice. The owners/management team were super nice when I called with a couple of questions...they made me feel welcome and not troublesome or bothersome. Even made a trip out to show me something that I should have figured out myself. Good people. Really good, kind people. The cabin is right outside the Cherokee National forest. You have an amazing drive along the Ocoee and the cabin isnt far away. There is so much space to spread out, especially if you have children. Totally secluded, private, the covered porch is a dream, and easy to get to. You wont go wrong with this cabin. Its a tad nicer in person than the pictures seem to show. Detailed cabin, huge laundry room, great mattresses, excellent WiFi for all of us, keurig, and hot tub.
View Property: 75597
Lenora K
Reviewed: Aug 2, 2017
This cabin was budget and pet friendly and had an amazing view! The third bedroom located in the basement with only outside access.. The view really was awesome and there were bar stools to sit on at the "breakfast bar". The hot tub was clean and worked well. Overall, the cabin worked out OK for the group and Bryan was good to work with - he gave us a late check out and recommendations on hiking trails, etc. upon request.
View Property: 75574
Shirley B
Reviewed: Jul 15, 2017
Beautiful cabin and lovely scenic view. Location is great for visiting local scenery, we visited several beautiful waterfalls close by with nice hikes. The cabin is high in the hills and the road is not paved all the way up, I have a low driving Cadillac an SUV or truck would be more suited to the road up and down. We managed though and had a great stay.
View Property: 126447
Diondre R
Reviewed: Jul 11, 2017
Review #18128476 Denali 5br/4ba plus treehouse suite- sleeps 14 Such an amazing place!!! This is an amazing home!! It is very spacious, extremely clean and secluded. We ended up with a group of 12 and everyone slept comfortably. It also has an amazing view from the back porch!! Theres a huge hot tub on the basement level (outside). Theres also a small pool and air hockey table in the basement. The home is approximately 10 minutes from downtown. GPS says 15 but it takes about 5 full minutes from the home to the main highway. Theres also a treehouse suite that is accessible from the home. You have to access it from an outside door which was awesome for my 13 year old son!! It has its own tv, refrigerator, stove, couch and bed high in the sky!! The management and/or owners were extremely nice. They made sure that someone answered all of my questions even during our stay. It is deep in the woods so be prepared with an SUV or a four wheel drive vehicle if possible but this is not mandatory. I cant say anything bad about the location. I love this place. I will definitely book here again.
View Property: 75545
Keith C
Reviewed: Jun 30, 2017
If you enjoy privacy and watching wildlife, then this cabin is for you. We were there for three days and two nites and saw deer, turkeys, coyotes, and lots of rabbits. The cabin alone is gorgeous, both inside and out. Well come back to this cabin again and again.
View Property: 125724
Tracy M
Reviewed: Jun 29, 2017
Do not be fooled by the mundane pictures....the cabin is AMAZING!!! It is big and beautiful and SO quiet. There is a tin roof that sings in the rain, a fireplace that is a true work of art and a kitchen that I personally would kill for. The master is privately tucked in upstairs with a full size bath and the laundry room. On the main floor is a big room with a queen sized bed and then a third bedroom with two twin beds. All of the bedding and furniture are nicely appointed. The towels are of very good quality and the kitchen appliances are brand new stainless steel LGs. There is a large pantry to put your groceries away in. The Hot tub is very nice and comfortable and the gas grill is very convenient. My only word of advice is that you take all groceries that you may want with you and that you be sure to take a vehicle with plenty of ground clearance...there is a creek crossing that would be very difficult for a small car to make. The creek is neither deep or fast so you wont flood, but getting into and out of the creek could be a challenge. Also there is virtually no coverage at the property if you have verizon and there is neither internet nor wifi. They do have DirectTv...but to be honest, once we got over the shock of being completely unplugged, we really did enjoy it and did not even turn o n the TV. I cannot recommend this property enough, it really is beautiful and an excellent value.
View Property: 75578
Joe B
Reviewed: Jun 25, 2017
This is a great place to use as a home base for enjoying all of what the North Georgia area has to offer. The road in is a little challenging, I was glad we were in a truck. The house is compact and well equipped, nice screen porch for the evenings. I would (and probably will) stay there again.
View Property: 126447
Gina G
Reviewed: Jun 22, 2017
Unique Cabin Very Private Reviewed by: Gina G from Gadsden, Alabama Reviewed on: 06/13/2017 for their stay in 06/2017 Stonybrook Lodge My sister and I along with our teenage kids and friends stayed here for a rafting trip. It is very nice and well maintained. I loved all the privacy, enjoyed the fire pit and hot tub and strolled along all the acreage and creek. Got the perfect picture of the Strawberry Moon. Our kids loved playing air hockey upstairs and the hot tub. We would highly recommend this place.
View Property: 75578
Matt J
Reviewed: Jun 21, 2017
What a nice little cabin. Incredible view. The sun went down around 9 pm when we were there so the long sunsets made it even better. We were only 2 plus a small dog, so we only utilized the downstairs during our stay. The upstairs seems nice, but only has an exterior staircase to the downstairs and the only bathroom is inside downstairs. The plan was to use the hot tub, as it is located on the hill with the view, but we were content building fires outside and hanging out around the house and porch. Maybe next time. There is central a/c but we left it off most of the time we were there in favor of leaving doors and windows open (all have screens on them) and having the fans on (there are lots of fans - awesome). There is a small fire pit and they can provide you with fire wood - which we took full advantage of. Build a fire early evening and you can enjoy the fire and the view all at once. The kitchen has modern appliances - we cooked our dinner on the fire every night but made breakfast in the kitchen in the morning. Plenty of cups, utensils, pots, pans, plates, etc. You will need a raised 4 wheel or all wheel drive vehicle to get up the driveway. Its quite a steep climb up a gravel path from the gate.
View Property: 120562
Tatrabian L
Reviewed: Jun 1, 2017
5 Br/4 Ba, House w/hot tub Near Ocoee Whitewater Rafting Wonderful secluded property We had a great time over the Memorial Day weekend. There was PLENTY of space at the property. The management company was super nice and easy to work with. There was a slight issue with one of the toilets. I called and someone came out the same night to fix the toilet. The property is very close to outdoor activities if thats your thing. You should check out all the beautiful outdoor scenery Tennessee has to offer while youre there. The pictures online do no the property justice. Its a great place for a large group! You wont be disappointed!!!
View Property: 75576
Oscar C
Reviewed: May 31, 2017
It was a great place for me and my girlfriend! Its a great get away place. It wad very comfortable and no problems,had everything i needed there. I would definitely go back!!
View Property: 75537
Moica Z
Reviewed: May 31, 2017
Great stay. Left on May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017 This was my first time renting a cabin, and I have to say was a good experience. The cabin has a large open floor on main with an updated kitchen. It has one bedroom on main and one upstairs which is very convenient for a family with kids. For the best comfort the max occupancy should be 2 with 2-3 kids( teens). The porch is a wrapped around and very wide making it perfect for outside gatherings. The pool and ping pong table in the unfinished basement helps If you are coming with kids. There is a private property very close by, just as you look from the front porch. However, it is close to 2 major fun activities water rafting and zip lining, just 12-15 min away in TN( Whitewater")
View Property: 75616
Michael T
Reviewed: May 4, 2017
This was our 2nd time staying in one of Bryans properties. The cabin was in a great location with a nice mountain and sunset view. The cabin was very clean and well equipped and it was a great place for our family to stay. Highly recommend!
View Property: 75577
LaDawn m
Reviewed: Apr 23, 2017
Very welcoming home! We had everything we needed for a relaxing weekend get away.
View Property: 126447
Rebecca S
Reviewed: Apr 17, 2017
I just wanted to touch base with you to say how much we enjoyed our stay at the Lil Beaver. We were beyond impressed! And my driving mate wanted to be sure I told you that he was very appreciative of your on point directions! The cabin was super clean and well stocked, not to overlook how beautiful it was and so perfectly furnished. We could not stop commenting on how overly accommodating it was. Our only regret was leaving - but we will be back! Many sincere thanks for everything. We will not even consider renting out from anyone else! You had us pretty much locked in with the directions - and that was just a peek into how perfect the cabin and our stay was. Thank you so much, Bryan! Hope you are well and enjoyed family and friends today! Til next time - Rebecca S
View Property: 114092
Courtney S
Reviewed: Apr 16, 2017
"This is a beautiful modern cabin. The wrap around porch was perfect and the small creek on the property added serenity. We had a blast at this venue and would return again. I would highly recommend it for any group of friends or family. Thank you Bryan!"
View Property: 75578
John W
Reviewed: Apr 16, 2017
Creekfront- Pool Table- Hot Tub- Wifi- sleeps 8 Perfect getaway This was a perfect get away. Plenty for the kids to do. Fire pit was fun. Great creek to watch and frolic in. Close to town and WalMart. Big, clean and well maintained.
View Property: 83109
Ashlyn T
Reviewed: Mar 5, 2017
"We had a wonderful time at Bryans cabin. The directions made it easy to find, and it exceeded our expectations. Everything worked perfectly, and the hot tub was so nice during the cool nights. Had a great weekend!"
View Property: 75599
Robert S
Reviewed: Jan 19, 2017
"Lil Beaver" is a cozy, comfortable, well stocked cabin. The downstairs space & large grilling area are the key to a great, relaxing stay. Although in a well occupied cabin community, this home is a the end of a road, which adds to the peacefulness. The pond is a great touch, even with public access and a road bordering the opposite side. We were pleasantly surprised how peaceful & quite this place was. We saw a group of deer around the pond one morning. Lots of birds & squirrels to watch. The fire pit was awesome, but I would suggest bringing some camping/sporting style chairs, the swing is just a bit far from the pit, but a nice touch. As others have suggested, its best to have 4 wheel drive or an SUV for the roads & driveway. Follow Bryans directions for the smoothest arrival. Waze gets you close, but once you leave the blacktop, its best you know the way! We will be back! Wonderful place. Amicalola Falls & several sections of the Appalachian Trail are within driving distance. We did a day hike on the AT. We also discovered the Benton MacKaye Trail (BMT) goes through this community. Just pick up the white diamonds on Indian Rock Road & enjoy some light hiking without driving away from the cabin.
View Property: 114092
Deanna D
Reviewed: Jan 7, 2017
This was our first stay at the Bears Den, and we definitely plan on coming back. The cabin itself was extremely clean and well kept, and everything we needed for our stay was available. We felt like we were staying in a place of our own. The owners provide everything you need to cook and stay comfortably. Theres plenty of space for a family and the cabin provided the warm cozy feel we were looking for. The location is ideal if youre looking to explore surrounding towns such as Dahlonega or Blue Ridge but also perfect if youre looking to relax and enjoy a quiet cabin experience. Theres also a perfect area outside to enjoy the view and go fishing in the creek. I would definitely recommend the Bears Den cabin if youre looking for a cozy getaway with plenty of options around to stay entertained.
View Property: 124438
Dave M
Reviewed: Dec 7, 2016
Nice mountain getaway My kids found two box turtles within an hour of arrival. We had a great time exploring around the cabin, hiking some outstanding trails, and looking around McCaysville and Blue Ridge. The cabin sits on the side of a ridge with an outstanding sunset view down the valley from the screened-in porch. We also enjoyed the pool table and the hot tub. This is a great spot for families like ours that like to cook our own meals and travel on a budget. You will hear cows mooing in the distance in the evening (and thats all) - very nice. The hosts were very helpful with detailed directions to the cabin. They also answered all of my questions quickly and efficiently. I highly recommend this rental to you.
View Property: 75599
Leanne H
Reviewed: Dec 4, 2016
We went at the last minute, and the host was very responsive. We found the house fairly easily, it was just as described with a nice interior. Perfect for four people. I truly loved the way the porches basically put the house out over the river/creek. Fabulous burbling!
View Property: 124591
Whitney V
Reviewed: Nov 13, 2016
A great cabin. Super secluded. A good way to disconnect from phones and internet. Close to Merciers Orchard...great treats! Pictures never do a place justice. This cabin is way more quaint in person.
View Property: 75537